Morocco Regions

Regions of Morocco
The country of Morocco is divided into sixteen administrative regions. Each region has a capital and provinces.


Location : North Central Morocco
Capital : Settat
Provinces in the region : Ben Slimane Province, Khouribga Province, Settat Province


This region is home to Safi the National Ceramics Museum
Location : West Central Morocco
Capital : Safi
Provinces in the region : El Jadida Province, Safi Province, They represent the two natural regions of Doukkala and Abda.


The capital of this region, fez (or fes), is the country’s thirds largest city.
Location : North Morocco
Capital : Fez
Provinces and prefectures in the region : Prefecture of Fès-Dar-Dbibegh, Moulay Yacoub Province, Sefrou Province, Boulemane Province

Gharb-Chrarda-Béni Hssen

Location: North West Morocco
Capital : Kenitra
Provinces in the region : Kénitra Province Sidi Kacem Province

Grand Casablanca

Morocco’s largest and most modern city, Casablanca is home to the famous King Hassan II Mosque.
Location : North West Morocco
Capital : Casablanca

Guelmim-Es Semara

Location : South Morocco
Capital : Guelmim
Provinces in the region : Assa-Zag Province, Es Smara Province, Guelmim Province, Tan-Tan Province, Tata Province,
The southern half of the region forms part of the Western Sahara.

Laâyoune-Boujdour-Sakia El Hamra

It is partly located in the disputed territory of Western Sahara.
Provinces in the region : Boujdour Province Laâyoune Province

Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz

The region is the most visited by holiday makers from around the world to experience Marrakesh and enjoy the coast of Essaouira.
Location : Central Morocco
Capital : Marrakech
Provinces and prefectures in the region : Prefecture of Marrakech-Medina, Prefecture of Marrakech-Menara, Prefecture of Sidi Youssef, Ben Ali Al Haouz Province, Chichaoua Province, El Kelâat Es-Sraghna, Province Essaouira, Province Habbo,


This region is on the border of Algeria in the North of Morocco, the capital Meknes is a popular tourist destination
Location : North Central Morocco
Capital : Meknès
Prefectures and provinces in the region : Prefecture of Al Ismaïlia, Prefecture of Meknès-El, Menzeh El Hajeb Province, Errachidia Province, Ifrane Province, Khénifra Province


In the Northern coast of the province is on the Mediterranean Sea
Location : North East Morocco
Capital : Oujda
Prefectures and provinces in the region : Berkane Province, Figuig Province, Jerada Province, Nador Province, Prefecture of Oujda-Angad, Taourirt Province
North-East Morocco, bordering Algeria and the Spanish enclave of Melilla.

Oued Ed-Dahab-Lagouira

Location : Morocco
Capital : Dakhla
Prefectures and provinces in the region : Prefecture of Aousserd Oued Eddahab Province
Note: It is situated in the disputed territory of Western Sahara, considered by Morocco to be the southern part of the country. The United Nations and most countries do not recognize either Moroccan sovereignty over the area, or the self-declared Sahrawi republic.


The country’s capital Rabat is one of Morocco’s imperial cities.
Location : North West Morocco
Capital : Rabat
Provinces and prefectures in the region : Prefecture of Rabat, Prefecture of Salé, Prefecture of Skhirat-Témara, Khemisset Province


Visitors are drawn to the regions capital Agadir for coastal holidays.
Location : Central Morocco
Capital : Agadir
Provinces and prefectures in the region : Prefecture of Agadir-Ida-Ou Tanane, Préfecture of Inezgane-Aït Melloul, Chtouka Aït Baha Province Ouarzazate Province, Taroudant Province, Sidi Ifni Province, Tiznit Province, Zagora Province


Location : North Morocco
Capital : Beni Mellal
Provinces in the region : Azilal Province Béni-Mellal Province


Location : North-West Morocco
Capital : Tangier
Provinces and prefectures in the region : Prefecture of Fahs Anjra, Prefecture of Tangier-Assilah, Prefecture of Tétouan Chefchaouen Province Larache Province

Taza-Al Hoceima-Taounate

Location : North Morocco
Capital : Al Hoceima
Provinces in the region : Al Hoceima Province, Taounate Province, Taza Province

More destinations in Morocco
Agadir | Casablanca | Essaouira | Fez | Marrakesh | Meknes | Ouarzazate | Oujda | Ourika | Rabat | Taghazout |

Share this page