Learn about the Imperial Cities of Morocco

Morocco has four historical capital cities. Rabat is the capital of Morocco however along with the cities of Fez, Meknes and Marrakesh they are all known as the ‘Imperial cities of Morocco’.

Each one has been the Capital city at one time (except Rabat which has been twice) over the last thousand years and Fez, Meknes and Marrakesh are all UNESCO inscribed

Fez, the first capital established in the ninth century under Sultan Idriss II, a great-great grandson of the Prophet Muhammad.

Marrakesh became the second under the rule of the Almoravides in the 11th century. Visitors to the city today can see the Almoravid Koubba, an Almoravid building close to the Marakesh Museum.

Rabat, became capital when the Almohads took control in the 12th century.

Then came Meknes during the reign of Sultan Moulay Ismail (1672–1727)

Rabat again became capital under the French, in 1912, and remained so after independence.

Book your trip to Morocco today


More destinations in Morocco
Agadir | Casablanca | Essaouira | Fez | Marrakesh | Meknes | Ouarzazate | Oujda | Ourika | Rabat | Taghazout |

Share this page